Abrupt end to my first year..

So… recently KU decided to shift all courses online leaving many of us heartbroken. It is indeed a sad time for me as this is my first year as a Masters’s student in my program. My first semester engaging in this kind of course work, making connections, doing a grad assistantship I love, and being around a supportive office. I count my blessings, this could be worst but sometimes it is hard to come to terms with. 

I am not sure of the status of my summer internship yet as NY is currently the epicenter for the virus right now and I am scared to reach out to the University.

However, I am keeping the faith that this will all go well and I would be able to go back to Kansas and finish off my semester online.

My job will also be remotely done for the meantime and this I am also saddened about because I feel like Conduct is supposed to be face to face. But I see this as a way to learn to be adaptive in any kind of situation and this will be good training for the future! 

I will miss my Hearing Board trainees, especially Andrew. I will miss going into the Student Affairs office and seeing Tammara, Jane, Jennifer, Robbie (always dabbing), jokes, and long conversations with Adam in my office and awkward conversations with Katie. I’ll miss doing my Hawk Habits class and my impact on the students. Wow just like that my semester ended! 

But I am especially heartbroken for the class of 2020 that will never experience graduation like I did two years ago, many of these students are first-generation like myself and to not experience such a moment? oh wow! I would not know what to do. I would be mad, depressed, and all sorts. It kinda sucks because where has my hard work gone? I hope at least many can experience winter graduation to make up for the lack of spring graduation.

I have never seen so much unity in Higher Education and Student affairs. I really love this field and the support that they are giving each other, posting in Facebook groups, asking for advice, and helping their students. This is indeed the field I believe I belong to. 

 

That Grenville Girl signing off!

beach bungalow caribbean jetty
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

 

Published by Bria Thorne

Just a crazy Grenadian here :)

2 thoughts on “Abrupt end to my first year..

  1. It is so sad to see how fast all is changing.. I feel the same as you do. Only 2 month ago I was in your home country Grenada from what I read.
    Enjoying the beautiful Grand Anse Beach. and sailing on a 43 foot sailing boat towards Carriaco. Then just 14 days ago Sint Maarten…Sailing again.
    I think that was a gift of God now. All seems so far now..
    I am a very social outgoing woman that loves to hug and be close to people..
    All is so surreal.
    Even my husband I am not allowed to kiss or hug… OMG this is sad.
    Wishing you well and stay connected.

    Like

    1. I feel like my year has just gone down the drain and it barely started. Keeping the faith definitely. I am not so social but not hugging or in contact with people is very hard. I am glad you enjoyed Grenada!

      Like

Leave a comment